Chief Student Affairs Officers

Home » Councils and Subgroups – Edit Later » Chief Student Affairs Officers

Student Leadership Award Recipients

President: Dr. James Grant, Moberly Area Community College

Description: The purpose of the Chief Student Affairs Council shall be to serve as a representative group of Missouri community and technical college student services/student affairs administrators; address the student services and related issues that affect higher education in Missouri; present and make recommendations to the Presidents and Chancellors of Missouri Community Colleges concerning student services and related issues; make recommendations, as directed by the Presidents and Chancellors, to the Missouri Department of Higher Education staff concerning student services and related issues; make recommendations, as directed by the Presidents and Chancellors, to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education staff concerning student services and related issues; develop and improve partnerships and collaboration among Missouri community and technical colleges, and between these colleges and other stakeholders; and promote the continuous improvement of quality education by sharing best practices and through other initiatives.

Article III: Membership

The Missouri Community College Association of Chief Student Affairs Officers (CSAO) Council shall be composed of student affairs/student services administrators from each member institution of the Missouri Community College Association.  The senior student affairs/student services officer or duly designated representative shall have voting privileges on the council.  CSAOs from non-MCCA member institutions may be designated as ex officio members of the council.  The goal of this group is to make decisions on the basis of consensus.  However, the council may on some occasions choose to make decisions by voting.  On these occasions, the council may also choose to allow only one vote per district.

Article IV: Officers and Duties, Elections, Term of Office, and Nominations

Section A: The Officers of the Council and their duties shall be:

President: The President shall preside at the scheduled meetings and shall enforce the bylaws.  The President is responsible for arranging meeting facilities, setting meeting agendas and distributing information to Council members.  This officer shall establish committees, appoint committee members and designate the chair of each committee.  The President also will represent the group to the MCCA Presidents and Chancellors Council and to Department of Higher Education and the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education staff as requested and/or directed.

Vice President: The Vice President shall preside over council meetings in the President’s absence and will assist the President with duties as requested.

Secretary: The Secretary shall record minutes of each council meeting and distribute to the membership in a timely manner.  The Secretary shall also maintain an up-to-date list of members with e-mail addresses and phone numbers.

These officers, along with the immediate past president, shall constitute the executive board and shall perform the duties prescribed by these bylaws and the parliamentary authority adopted by the council.  The executive board shall set forth other duties of the officers not specifically stated in the bylaws.

Section B: Terms of Office

The term of office shall be for one year.  Members may be nominated and re-elected for consecutive years of service.

Should any officer not be able to fulfill his/her term of office, the President shall appoint any current member to complete the balance of term.  The exception to this would be the office of President, and vacancy shall be filled with the current Vice President.

Section C: Elections

At the conclusion of the final spring meeting, the Vice President shall succeed to the President’s office.  At this meeting, an election will be held for the Vice President and the Secretary positions.  Nominees will be those who have submitted their interest to the President.  Nominations will also be taken from the floor.  Those elected to positions will begin their terms at the conclusion of that meeting.

Article V: Meetings

Section A: General Meetings

The Council shall meet at least quarterly.

Section B: Special Meetings

The President may call special meetings of the Council.

Section C: Quorum

A quorum of the Council for the purpose of conducting official business shall be a majority of the official representatives of the member institutions.

Section D: Executive Board Meetings

The Executive Board may elect to meet for the purpose of conducting business at times called by the President.

Article VI: Committees

The President may form standing committees to perform continuing functions or special committees for carrying out specific tasks.

Article VII: Parliamentary Authority

The rules contained in the current edition of Robert’s Rules of Order, Newly Revised, shall govern the Council in cases in which the council deems necessary for this formality, and in which they are not inconsistent with these bylaws and any special rules of order the Council may adopt.

Article VIII: Amendments

Section A: Action on Amending

Action on amending the bylaw(s) shall only occur at a regularly scheduled meeting of the Council.

Section B: Notice to Amend

Notice to amend a bylaw shall precede by thirty (30) days the regularly scheduled meeting at which action is requested.  The notice shall be in writing and shall state the existing bylaw and the bylaw with proposed changes.  Notices shall be sent to all current members of the Council and shall have the signature of approval of the President to request such a proposed action.

In the event that no prior notice has been given, amendments to the bylaws may be made at a scheduled meeting by a quorum vote by a two-thirds vote of the quorum.

Past Council Presidents

2009-2010 – Kristen Alley, North Central Missouri College
2010-2011 – Julia Hampton, Jefferson College
2011-2012 – Jon Burke, Metropolitan Community College-Blue River
2012-2013 – Yvette Sweeney, St. Charles Community College
2013-2014 – Shelli Allen, Metropolitan Community College-Maple Woods
2014-2015 – James Grant, Moberly Area Community College
2015-2016 – Tiffany Slinkard, Crowder College